Day 224: Don’t Cry Satan

Only four days remain of the Erratic Ramblings, and I couldn’t be happier. As I lie in bed with the whole day to write about ahead of me, I feel exhausted. We didn’t do much today, but that’s usually the cause for feeling so tired. The day panned out a little like this:
• The first half of the day was spent at our resort.
• Early afternoon we went out for a walk.
• Found a resort to have dinner at.
• Spent the rest of the afternoon there.
• Saw Devil’s Tear point.
• Came back to Nanuk.
• Enjoyed an evening meal with an Australian couple.
That is precisely how we spent our last day in Lembongen, I am going to do my best to stay awake now and go over the smaller details.

The day started around 8:15am. We led in bed for around another half an hour until we joined Sarah’s parents for breakfast. After eating our all inclusive pancakes, we spent the rest of the morning, and early hours of the afternoon hanging out at our resort. Sarah read, Simon messed a out on his tablet, Ann led on the sun loungers, and I played on my Nintendo. Because the battery had died on my device, I was restricted to the downstairs area of our hut, in the shade. I led beside the socket for around 3 hours, playing games until my thumbs hurt. When it was fully charged I went over to Sarah to play some more beside the pool. It was then that Sarah’s parents suggested we went out for a walk to get dinner, as that would help build up an appetite. Little did they know I was already starving.

We walked and walked, but found nothing. We ended up walking down a side street which we thought would lead to either the beach or a decent restaurant – how wrong we were. This road contained nothing but temples, countless temples, side by side from the top of the hill to the bottom, there were so many in fact they almost resembled terraced housing. Sarah was only wearing a vest on top of her bikini and felt really bad as she walked past the local people. She feared she was being disrespectful for wearing so little. Her knees were exposed and everything, the little hussy. She felt even worse when we passed a cremation ceremony, the people were preparing the coffin for later that day. When we reached the bottom of the road it turned out to be a dead end, so we came back on ourselves, where Sarah had the pleasure of walking past everyone all over again. We were miles ahead of Simon and Ann who were still climbing the hill when we’d reached he top. When they’d caught up we retraced our steps until we reached a local corner shop. There was a man sat outside who spoke good English, and recommended a restaurant down an adjacent road. He said it was a 20 minute walk from where we currently stood. We bought some water and a chocolate bar from his shop, then headed in that direction. I was miserable this whole time for a couple reasons:
1: I didn’t want to leave the resort in the first place.
2: I was extremely hungry and agitated.
Maybe it was the hunger that was powering me through but we made it in less time than predicted. It only took 10 minutes before we stumbled upon Dream Beach Cabu.

This was the only resort that rivalled ours. They charged exactly the same amount of money per night as Nanuk bungalows. They had a pool, great food, cosy looking huts, and a fully functioning spa. After dinner Ann and Sarah made full use of that when they both enjoyed a couple pedicures, while Simon and I were left to twiddle our thumbs. It was alright for me because my thumbs were occupied with the Nintendo, until its batteries died that is. I found it very difficult to sit still, and I wouldn’t be surprised if Simon was bored either. I didn’t like sitting and waiting because there wasn’t much to do. I went in the pool for a bit and ordered a plate of chips for my second meal. Mostly out of boredom than hunger. The people at the resort were so nice to us, before we even got our food they said we were allowed to swim in their pool, and they even provided us with towels afterwards. When Sarah’s peddy was finished the pair of us went to see the nearby beach for sunset. Simon remained to wait for Ann’s treatment to be over with. The beach was so beautiful, it was a cove like area where the waves washed up gently on the shore. We took a couple pictures from afar then moved on to the next nearby sight. Devil’s Tear.

This was the corner of Lembongan where the dagger like rock faces were washed with salty sea waves. In the distance you could see the mighty wet mountains building up, and the crust of the wave riding on the top like a surfer. When they reached the rocks they caused an almighty smashing sound, and white foamy water dispersed everywhere. It was easy to see where the place got its name, if you fell in, without question, the end results would be fatal. We were there for a good 20 minutes before Sarah’s parents showed up. By the time they’d arrived it was dusk, and the Mosquitos were coming out yet again. Their presence was always accompanied by swift flying bats. It was very difficult to see on the way back because our eyes couldn’t adjust to the weird light. It wasn’t dark enough to focus on the floor, and wasn’t bright enough to see where we were going. Sarah explained to me that this was known as Mesopic vision. This was where the rods and cones in our eyes weren’t developed to cope with that level of lighting. The cones process higher light levels typical during the day. While the rods are more suited to very low light levels, corresponding to moonless nights without electric lighting. This is why dusk and dawn are considered the most dangerous times to drive. We took plenty of photos during our short visit, before returning to the resort, where the kind staff arranged a lift for us back to our resort. It was a 10 minute ride, and we’d surprised ourselves by how much walking we’d actually done earlier that day.

After popping back to the room to drop some things off, Sarah and her parents FaceTimed her sister and niece. After that we all went to the bar to grab a drink. Simon and Ann were there before us and had befriended an Australian couple. When we joined them they were deep in conversation. I was still hungry by this point, so I went ahead and ordered food for myself, which I was later shunned for when it arrived. Sarah turned around and sarcastically said “uh Ben, are you not gonna eat with us then?” I didn’t think anyone else was eating that night because they’d not long had dinner. I was the one with the fast metabolism after all, and 90% of the time it’s safe to presume I’m hungry. Eventually everyone did order food, and the staff pushed two tables together so we could eat with our new friends. Instead of having another cooked meal I chose to have a dessert. It was fried banana with chocolate and strawberry ice cream. Three hours passed by that evening as we remained at the table to converse after tea. Simon and John shared a couple bottles of beer, while the rest of us exchanged funny anecdotes. When the talk of travel was mentioned, the point was made that it’s more common to see people our age travelling nowadays compared to when the oldies were younger. And also how technology has helped to make this world that much smaller, with things like Facebook and Skype being the main culprits. Around 11pm we all went back to our rooms, but it took three attempts to say goodbye before anyone actually moved from the dinner tables. When I got into bed I was shattered, bone achingly shattered. I now have a headache from forcing myself to stay awake to write this, I am sorry if today has come across as lackadaisical at all, I am just too tired to concentrate. If I didn’t write it now, I know I’d struggle to remember everything tomorrow. I am now going to put this phone on charge and go to sleep. My eyelids weighed a ton as I wrote that last sentence…
Good night all, take care.
20130528-114053.jpg

20130528-114101.jpg

20130528-114118.jpg

20130528-114129.jpg

20130528-114144.jpg

20130528-114213.jpg

20130528-114222.jpg

20130528-114232.jpg

20130528-114239.jpg

20130528-114247.jpg

20130528-114308.jpg

20130528-114332.jpg

20130528-114343.jpg

20130528-114355.jpg

20130528-114407.jpg

20130528-114442.jpg

20130528-114724.jpg

20130528-114732.jpg

20130528-114758.jpg

20130528-114846.jpg

20130528-114851.jpg

20130528-114900.jpg

20130528-114905.jpg

20130528-114911.jpg

20130528-114918.jpg

20130528-114943.jpg

20130528-114951.jpg

20130528-115000.jpg

20130528-115038.jpg

20130528-115045.jpg

20130528-115052.jpg

20130528-115057.jpg

20130528-115102.jpg

20130528-115107.jpg

1 thought on “Day 224: Don’t Cry Satan

Leave a comment